Board of Directors

Tenby Powell

Chairman of Directors

Tenby was educated at the University of Waikato (awarded Distinguished Alumnus in 2010) and Harvard Business School. He has held senior management positions in Fletcher Challenge and Skellerup Group, prior to forming Hunter Powell Investment Partners, a major shareholder in the New Zealand Rental Group. Tenby stepped down as CEO of the Group in February 2009 after growing the business from 14 branches, when purchased in 2003, to 86 business units some six years later. Tenby is also Chairman of Envoy 360 Ltd, Director of Antarctica New Zealand (a crown entity), and Director & Trustee for the Auckland Rescue Helicopter Trust (Westpac Rescue Helicopter).

Dr Robert Pringle

Deputy Chairman of Directors

Dr Robert Pringle is the Vice-Chair of WaikatoLink. Previously Dr Pringle was the CEO of Dexcel and its predecessor, Dairying Research Corporation for six years. Dr Pringle was also the foundation Chief Scientist of AgResearch.

Professor Roy Crawford

Professor Roy Crawford is Vice-Chancellor of the University of Waikato, appointed in January 2005. He was previously Pro Vice-Chancellor for Research at Queens University, Belfast, where he was Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of the School of Mechanical and Processing Engineering. Internationally recognised in the field of rotational moulding of plastics, Professor Crawford is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the Society of Plastics Engineers.

Professor Bruce Clarkson

Professor Bruce Clarkson is Dean of Science and Engineering at the University of Waikato where he is also Director of the Environmental Research Institute. He is an internationally-recognised authority on ecological restoration, currently leads a major research programme on urban biodiversity restoration, and was awarded New Zealand’s premier conservation award, the Loder Cup, in 2006. Professor Clarkson previously worked for the Crown Research Institute, Landcare Research.

Sir William Gallagher

Sir William Gallagher is the Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of The Gallagher Group, Ltd. He is a key business leader in the New Zealand community, and is recognised worldwide for his success in expanding his operations throughout the globe. Ten years ago, the company employed only 35 people at their family firm in Hamilton. Now it has associate companies in 500 locations throughout the world.

Mr Tom McClunie

Mr Tom McClunie has had 30 years experience in the aviation and engineering industries and also the management and development of a number of relatively small companies. He was a founding Director of McClunie Birch, New Zealand’s largest privately owned process engineering company and is now retired. Mr McClunie has been Chairman of the Business in the Community Board of Directors and is a current director on the CLIMSystems Board.

Mr Ross Townshend

Mr Ross Townshend has an extensive background in management and consultancy within the New Zealand primary industry. His roles have included Group General Manager of Anchor Products Ltd and CEO of AFFCO Holdings Ltd. His business Townsend Associates has provided strategic, tactical and business re-engineering consultancy services to companies in New Zealand and Australia. More recently Mr Townsend has been involved in a variety of roles, focusing on mergers, acquisitions, turn-arounds and divestment for a private equity company.

Mr James MacGillivray

James MacGillivray is a Partner in the dispute resolution department of Hamilton law firm, Tompkins Wake. He specialises in the resolution of commercial disputes. Prior to joining Tompkins Wake, James was a Senior Associate in the London office of leading international firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, before which he practiced at Bell Gully in Auckland. James has assisted as a part-time lecturer at Waikato Law School.

Comments are closed.